technology

Scoring 10,000 Hyper-Targeted Visitors in 3 Weeks

It's tricky to develop the best possible content strategy. Getting the attention of heads of department is a real challenge. Modernweb was struggling with this, and went to Grow & Convert in search of a breakthrough. Modernweb connects businesses with top software development talent.

At first glance, their content was far too technical. They were attracting other developers, but not the department decision makers. Grow & Convert proposed an approach that focussed the content on the customer you want to reach.

Step 1: User Research

The process began with identifying past clients and the types of projects required. Grow & Convert found that decision makers often have little to no coding experience. As a result, there was a communication barrier in the language they were using. The content strategy was shifted to target executives within technology companies.

Step 2: Pain Points

The next step was understanding the difficulties these execs face, so that Modernweb could approach them with a solution. The issues identified included:

- Sourcing & retaining the best talent.

- Getting executives & boards to opt in.

- Staying ahead of the curve with technology.

- Understanding the risks of changes.

- Benchmarking against competitor's strategies.

 

Step 3: Develop Content Strategy

Grow & Convert have seen success with creating original content, instead of repeating what is already available. The decision was made to tell stories that are relevant to the industry. Decision makers are motivated to learn about the decisions other companies are making. Playing on that interest is a great way to get their attention.

Step 4: Spreading the Word

Research was conducted to find the community members most likely to share Modernweb's content, and searching for influencers to assist in the process. Embracing these new tactics led to over 9,500 unique page views, with each user spending more than 9 minutes on the page.

Grow & Convert follow the usual tactics of promoting articles on social media, but take it a step further. They approach online communities and publications that tech executives might visit. Pre-promotion is an important part of the process and includes joining Facebook, LinkedIn, and Google+ groups, and collecting press contacts. These journalists and publications received pitches and descriptions that match the social media presence.

Video Content: The Gateway to Creative Communication

Video Content Goodman Lantern Video content has been gaining popularity recently, to such an extent that in 2010, Forbes reported that among senior executives, 80% report watching more video than they did previously. Alan Newton, Eventopedia’s COO and Co-founder quotes his Creative Director, Pete Davies as saying that, “visual might be the new text,” - a prediction that seems to be coming into it’s own with 75% of senior executives preferring to watch work-related videos on business-related websites, while 52% also make use of YouTube. Newton believes video is the trend that shows the greatest opportunity as a creative communication tool, but cannot be overlooked as a tool for traffic generation when it is considered that 65% followed videos up with a visit to the creator’s website. Cisco has gone on record saying by 2019, consumer internet traffic will be 80% video, which would amount to a 64% rise from 2014’s figures.Video is considered to be the most significant method of communication between companies and their clients, but also in the business to business environment.

Tom Afek, CMO and co-founder of Showbox, believes that the creative and intelligent use of intuitive production platforms combined with appropriate research and execution allows any marketing manager to create engaging video content to highlight their company.  He recommends four “basic principles” of creating video content, beginning with the often underestimated importance of great content to fill the video with. A tight, punchy message is given a new breath of fresh air when coupled with engaging visuals and audio cues. Also vital is an attitude of transparency and a focus on viewer engagement - both aspects can appear daunting, but can be achieved by efficiently utilizing user feedback tools that allow comments and interaction between consumers and companies.

Another vital aspect to be considered is the placement of your video. Afek recommends a combined strategy of using a video hosting service such as YouTube, but stresses the importance of embedding the video on a relevant, prominent section of your company’s own site, diminishing the problems caused by distraction of competitor videos with good ratings. Consistency is the final piece of Afek’s focus, highlighting the need for a dependable and reliable outlook that communicates stoicism and steadfastness of resolve to any potential clients who view a number of videos in succession, or who are exposed to your company’s content over time. The fact is that the next generation of consumers demand to know as much as they can about every facet of the companies they support and to feel involved in their lifecycle - a sentiment that is often summed up into the extremely broad term, ‘relationship building.’

Advantages of Writing White Papers for B2B companies

For those who missed out yesterday Goodman Lantern launched a research paper on Advantages of Writing White Papers for B2B companies. White papers have repeatedly proven to move prospects through the sales funnel and benefit businesses especially for sales within a business to business environment. According to Ric Mccarthy at GM Digital "For us White Papers have proven to be a very effective form of business communication".

Learnings from successful 'technology' Kickstarter projects

Kickstarter is now used by various sectors to raise funding, technology is no exception. In the PDF below find the specifics of the leading companies who raised several times over the amount they were set to raise. For instance First Domestic Robot That Tracks Intruders! raised 24,952% over the amount it was meant to raise to make it's project a reality. Here is an analysis of what's common between the various successful companies:  

To Raise Over $10kPre-requisite: You should be building something truly revolutionary. Like a 3D printing pen, smart-home ⁃ Making life truly easy for everyday tech i.e. home devices, keyboards, flashlights and more ⁃ Empowering everyday people to do amazing stuff at low prices. Eg: 3D printing, coding for real devices (for kids), ⁃ Become healthy with quantifiable results. Eg: vest burns up to a pound of fat per week (500 calories/day ⁃ Available for most devices. It was observed that most oversubscribed projects were universal i.e. they worked on most devices. Even if they were only for mobile devices they supported iOS and Android.

To Raise under $10kPre-requisite: The item is in-expensive to buy for the end user ⁃ Applicable to a large audience irrespective of gender, profession and age. Example: Yoga classes, home safe of intruders and 3D laser scanner ⁃ Fun to have or use, could be a potential hobby. Example: guitar hero for real instruments, 3D scanners for

Other observations: ⁃ All the companies that raised money via Kickstarter in the technology section had great descriptions. They were able to define their product in under 10 words. Example: The World’s First 3D Printing Pen, Calorie Burning Vest, Cool-Ink 3D Pen, ⁃ Had a wow-factor in it’s description. Example: Designed by a NASA scientist, The world’s first and best 3D printing pen and Winner of the 2015 CES Best of Innovation

 

Analysis based on companies:  

Growth of Online Content Creation

Online Content Creation is a growing market, globally. On average, annual digital marketing operating budgets represented 2.5% of a company's revenue in 2012 (UK companies spend 2% of turnover - See Below). These expenses include personnel costs, contract labor, software as a service and external marketing services such as agency creative services, search, website design, content creation and management, social and mobile marketing. In fact, content creation and management account for the second largest share of digital marketing budgets. Reasons for Content Creation

Content creation and management account for the second largest share of digital marketing budgets. This is driven, in part, by the desire to populate the infinite appetites of inbound marketing channels. Social networks, customer forums, and the blogosphere are examples that drive inbound inquiries or actions. However, you need to create content that delivers the right message to the right person at the right time, regardless of how the dialogue gets started. That means content is equally needed to meet the demands of outbound marketing as well. The enormous pressure to create, manage and distribute content for multiple marketing activities through the right channels will only increase as customers use more digital channels for collaboration, researching and acquisition of products and services.

 

Marketer and CMO's Perspective

Marketers outsource 36% of content creation and believe it is the 4th most important activity for Marketing Success. Although, budgets per sector vary (source):

digital markeitng budgets

 

Budget's on the Rise

According to the Custom Content Council, in 2012, 68% of CMO’s will be increasing their budget for content marketing. Smaller companies with less than 10 employees are spending about 34% of the company budget in content marketing, approximately $56,000 annually. Companies with over 1000 employees are spending about 26% of the company budget in content marketing, approximately $1M annually. Although, budgets for SMEs are smaller, Small to Medium Businesses generally spend anything between 23-34% on content creation.  In the UK, on average, companies with a turnover of £1 million (the average TO of a UK SME) spend between £8,000 and £18,000 on content per year. Brands that turn over £2 million invest up to £36,000 per year and £5 million, £89,000 per annum. That equates to around 2% of turnover.

In the 2011 State of Content Marketing Survey from Techvalidate the majority of respondents reported that 20% or more of their marketing budget was devoted to producing content. Of those surveyed, 15% devote at least half of their entire marketing budget to content production.

 

125 Top Technology Blogs

If you are launching a new app, website or digital product, it's worth telling the world about it. A good place to get started is to contact technology blogs who care about your innovation and are looking to find the next big thing. If pitched in the right way they can make a difference. Here is a list of Top 125 technology blogs you should certainly get in touch with:

Blog / Website Name URL
TechCrunch http://techcrunch.com/
The Next Web http://thenextweb.com/
The Verge http://www.theverge.com/
CNET http://www.cnet.com/
Bloomberg's Tech column http://www.bloomberg.com/technology/
ZDNet http://www.zdnet.com/
Engadget http://www.engadget.com/
Ars Technica http://arstechnica.com/
New York Times Technology Column http://www.nytimes.com/pages/technology/index.html
Gigaom http://gigaom.com/
9to5Mac http://www.9to5mac.com/
Mashable http://mashable.com/
Wired http://www.wired.com/
AppleInsider http://appleinsider.com/
MacRumors http://www.macrumors.com/
NYT Bits http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/
paidContent http://gigaom.com/?primary_channel=media
Fortune http://fortune.com/
VentureBeat http://venturebeat.com/
Make Use Of http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/author/mark
Digital Inspiration http://www.labnol.org/
Tech Dirt https://www.techdirt.com/
Tom's Hardware http://www.tomshardware.com/
Inside Facebook http://www.insidefacebook.com/
Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/
Slash Dot http://slashdot.org/
Slate's Technology Column http://www.slate.com/articles/technology.html
Life Hacker http://www.lifehacker.co.in/
MIT's Technology Review http://www.technologyreview.com/
Geek Wire http://www.geekwire.com/
BBC Future http://www.bbc.com/future
Techna Bob http://technabob.com/
Quartz.com http://qz.com/
Guardian Technology Column http://www.theguardian.com/technology
Electronic Frontier Foundation http://www.eff.org/
Gizmodo http://gizmodo.com/
BGR http://bgr.com/
Tech Redar http://www.techradar.com/
Beta News http://betanews.com/
The Register http://www.theregister.co.uk/
IT World http://www.itworld.com/
PC Mag http://www.pcmag.com/
Addictive Tips http://www.addictivetips.com/
Gear Petrol http://gearpatrol.com/
Ad Age http://adage.com/
How To Geek http://www.howtogeek.com/
9 to 5 Google http://9to5google.com/
9 to Toys http://9to5toys.com/
Fast Company http://www.fastcompany.com/
iFixit http://www.ifixit.com/
Peta Pixel http://petapixel.com/
Droid Life http://www.droid-life.com
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com
Laptop Mag http://blog.laptopmag.com/
Tech Cocktail http://tech.co/
Android Police http://www.androidpolice.com/
The Flurry Blog http://www.flurry.com/
Times if India's Technology column http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/tech
Neowin http://www.neowin.net/
Talk Android http://www.talkandroid.com/
Pocket Lint http://www.pocket-lint.com/
Adweek http://www.adweek.com/
Slash Gear http://www.slashgear.com/
Electronista http://www.electronista.com/
Ken Sengall's Blog http://kensegall.com/blog/
Shout Me Loud http://www.shoutmeloud.com/
Just Web World http://www.justwebworld.com/
Blog Godown http://www.bloggodown.com/
Hot Blog Tips http://hotblogtips.com
Blogging Cage http://www.bloggingcage.com/
Bloggers Passion http://bloggerspassion.com/
Pro Blogger http://www.problogger.net
Smart Bloggerz http://www.smartbloggerz.com/
Copy Blogger http://www.copyblogger.com/
Tricks Daddy http://www.tricksdaddy.com/
Techy Passion http://www.techypassion.com/
Computer How To Guide http://www.computerhowtoguide.com
Shout Me Tech http://shoutmetech.com/
Techie Blogger http://www.techieblogger.com/
Smashing Magazine http://www.smashingmagazine.com
Wiki Blinks http://wikiblinks.com/
Biz Journals http://www.bizjournals.com
Groovy Post http://www.groovypost.com
Chris Pirillo's Blog http://chris.pirillo.com/
Let's Talk Tech http://letstalk-tech.com
Tech Shout http://www.techshout.com/
Skatter http://skatter.com/
Techi http://www.techi.com
Geek Insider http://www.geekinsider.com/
Blog Solute http://www.blogsolute.com/
Tech Linko http://www.techlinko.com
Beta Kit http://www.betakit.com
Web Designer Depot http://www.webdesignerdepot.com
G Hacks http://www.ghacks.net/
Evernote Blogcast http://blog.evernote.com
Rogers Redboard http://redboard.rogers.com/
Chip Chicks http://www.chipchick.com/
Android Guys http://www.androidguys.com
Phone News http://www.phonenews.com/
Zatz Not Funny http://www.zatznotfunny.com/
Euro Gamer http://www.eurogamer.net
Fone Arena http://www.fonearena.com/blog
Berry Reviews http://www.berryreview.com
The Tech Blog http://www.thetechblock.com
Yanko Design http://www.yankodesign.com/
Chitika Insights http://chitika.com/insights/
All Facebook http://allfacebook.com/
Mobile Burn http://www.mobileburn.com
Lili Putting http://liliputing.com
Phone Scoop http://www.phonescoop.com
WM Power User http://wmpoweruser.com
Android and Me http://androidandme.com
Into Mobile http://www.intomobile.com
Pocket Now http://pocketnow.com/
Tuaw - Unofficial Apple Blog http://www.tuaw.com
Mobile Syrup http://mobilesyrup.com
PH Android http://phandroid.com/
OS News http://www.osnews.com/
Matthew Woodward http://www.matthewwoodward.co.uk/
Technorati http://technorati.com/
Marketing Land http://marketingland.com
Chris Brogan http://www.chrisbrogan.com
Social Times http://www.mediabistro.com/aboutus/
Search Engine Journal http://www.searchenginejournal.com/